Binge Watching “Chopped”

]

Spent the evening in binge-watching “Chopped” on the computer on the coffee table, except for going out to get a Domino’s Pizza and a 2 liter of Diet Coke.

If you have never seen “Chopped” I recommend checking it out.   “Chopped” is a cooking competition where there are 4 ingredients in a mystery basket and it starts with 4 chefs, usually starting with an appetizer, then entrée then dessert with a contestant eliminated in each round.

Although many times it has encouraged me to cook and to try new things, tonight I was in the mood for pizza so ordered Dominos pizza and picked up a 2 liter of Diet Coke.

One thing that I learned about that I now use all the time is the Indian spice mix, Garam Masala.  Its name means “Hot Spices”.  I purchased a bottle of Frontier Co-Op Organic and it contains Cardamom, cinnamon, cloves, cumin, black pepper, coriander.  I had read it is more of finishing spice that you add toward the end, but I have used it in recipes that call for Cinnamon or Cloves and used it instead and it has worked out well in cookies and muffins.  I had ordered from Vitacost but it is available elsewhere online and in some stores and there are other brands and you can even make your own – many recipe sites, such as Food.com have recipes for it).

I have to tip my hat to those that compete on “Chopped” and all of the exotic ingredients they have on the show and especially the judges that have to try the creations.

I know, a little white trash to push your keyboard up to make room for the Big Lots plate O’pizza, but makes eating alone a fun time instead of a lonely one.

 

 

Leave a Reply

