Cannellini Beans

You never know how some random moment from your past will influence the present.  Case in point, today at lunch the TV where I was sitting had on the Food Network where re I was sitting had on the Food Network and Ree Drummond, the”Pioneer Woman” was fixing a dish with canned Cannellini Beans and Kale or Spinach or the like and people nearby were yumming and licking their chops at the pretty pinkish beans with a forest green accompaniment, but my gag reflex kicking in as it took me back to a childhood moment I wish I could forget.

The reason I felt like a kitten about to cough up a furball is that Cannellini beans look very similar to a Daddy Long Legs Spider.  I guess technically they are not a spider although it is an arachnid called Harvestman Arachnid .  Where I grew up they were abundant where I lived, but my Mom told me they didn’t bite and were “good” spiders (is there really such a thing?).

It was a hot Summer day when I was a pre-schooler and my Mom used to babysit.  I went to see what one of the older males as doing on the sidewalk and I wandered over to check it out.  It was not until I got there I realized he was pulling the legs off of a Daddy Long Leg Spider and was horrified until it had none.  I put myself in the spider’s shoes and I wondered what I would do and how I would survive if I had no arms or legs and had a meltdown yelled at him how cruel it was.  He then stomped the crippled arachnid and walked off and I was mortified.

I went to my Mom and was sobbing so hard she understand me.  She said lunch was ready and I would feel better after I ate.   What did we have for lunch?  A little bit of ham and  Cannellini Beans that looked just like the bodies of the arachnid.   Her ham and beans looked like a stew of cruelty to me.  I ended up being relegated to a nap and I was fine with that.  I refused to eat it and I haven’t eaten a version that looked like it to this day.  I can handle Cannellini Beans if they are part of a mixture that resembles nothing like a Daddy Long Legs, but

What did we have for lunch?  A little bit of ham and t Cannellini Beans hat looked just like the bodies of the arachnid (see an example picture below).  Her ham and beans looked like a stew of cruelty to me.  I ended up being relegated to a nap after refusing to eat and I was fine with that.   I haven’t eaten a version that looked like it to this day.  I can handle Cannellini Beans if they are part of a mixture that resembles nothing like a Daddy Long Legs, like in a Chili or Stew, but if I see a dish that resembles the picture above and below I get creeped out and nauseous.

Harvestman Arachnid

Photo:  Source

Leave a Reply

