Disappointing Trip to Ulta

The above was what was on display when I walked in the door I had gone in a nearby Ulta. The Urban Decay “Naked” Pallettes seem to be the holy grail in eyeshadow that a lot of other makeup companies try to copy.  They are touted as glide on easily and have great pigmentation and from swatching a few of the shades on the back of my hand from the “try me” in the store they do seem to deliver on that, but they come at the hefty price of $52.   As that is just a little under what my water/trash bill is per month, I just can justify it.  While you get a set of 10 and it works out to be $5.20 per shadow it would be cheaper than buying many individual shadows, but I have yet to find any palette that I like all of the shades/colors offered.

That was a sidetrack as I went to Ulta for the sole purpose of purchasing the buy one get one half off the “Mr. Bubble” body butters that I wanted to try.  As a kid, I would see the Mr. Bubble ads on TV and yearned to try it along with having a bathtub to use it in.  By my teens when we did move into a trailer that had a bathtub, I was in Jr. High and Mr. Bubble was long forgotten.  That is until now when I saw the flyer with the retro-looking packaging and with the $3.50 off coupon in the flyer, I could get two body butters for $11.75 + tax which would be a great deal.  I figured even if I ended up hating the scents, I would just use it on my feet.

I went back to the bath and body products and didn’t find it, nor was it near the Body Shop body butter.   They had a retro looking display on the far wall, but it turned out to be for Soap and Glory products.  I decided to would have to track down a salesperson to help me find it as I must just be missing it.   I went to the cashier who did get an energetic young gal who said they had got the product in stock two weeks ago but when we went to the shelf where it should have been and it was empty.  Instead of saying they must be out, she said they must not have put it out on display yet.  Now I would have thought the logical thing to do would be to go

I went to the cashier who did get an energetic young gal who said they had got the product in stock two weeks ago but when we went to the shelf where it should have been and it was empty.  Instead of saying they must be out, she said they must not have put it out on display yet.  Now I would have thought the logical thing to do would be to go to the back and check and bring it out if it was there, but she just stood there and didn’t seem to know what to say.  To nudge her in that direction, I asked when it would be put out and she said she didn’t know.  I cocked my head and gave her a quizzical look and was going to ask her to go check when she said only worked Fridays.  I am not sure what that had to do with anything,  She did say I could order it online and I said then I would have to pay for shipping as the minimum purchase was $50 for free shipping, but she said she could give me a card to get the shipping free and she did just that.  I was not aware they could do that, so I learned something new.

Normally I would have been a little more insistent,  but I sensed that despite her enthusiasm she did not feel secure enough in her position to ask another employee for help.  I have worked in retail and other places and can see the “regular” employees looking down on “that Friday only girl”.   She did offer a workable solution and as I have lived without Mr. Bubble in my life up until now, another week or so it not going to make a big difference and no need to potentially make someone feel bad or ruin their day if I didn’t need to so I thanked her for the card and went home and ordered online, but found I wasn’t able to use the code for shipping and the discount as only one code was allowed.

(Edit – I did email Ulta and they did credit my charge card back $3.50 for the coupon:)

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

