No Ride-on Carts at Kroger Today

It hurt to move today and I could have really used one of the ride-on carts that the store has to use free of charge to pick up the few items I needed, but alas there were none.  It happens as there is a facility across the street for people 55 and over and many have disabilities and not a big deal, except when I go to enter an aisle and two girls, a chubby one about 9 and a little one about 8 almost ran me over as they were playing and crashing them in into each other and things in the aisle.

At least the younger one said “Sorry”.   I informed them the carts were not toys; they were there for people that needed them.   The chubby one just giggled and continued on and they younger one sped after her.   Sadly, there didn’t seem any adult around to supervise them.   I don’t know if I felt better if I might have made more of an issue of it, or if the other reason I noticed was that I didn’t feel well, but the next time I saw them, I gave them a look of disgust.   The third time I saw the younger one in an aisle by herself and gave her the evil eye gypsy curse type glare for 10 seconds before moving on to the next aisle.

I don’t know if I felt better if I might have made more of an issue of it, or if the other reason I noticed was that I didn’t feel well, but the next time I saw them, I gave them a look of disgust.   The third time I saw the younger one I gave her more of a glaring Mom “You are in trouble stare”.   The next thing I see is both are heading toward the front of the store to park the carts as the little one had convinced the chubby one they shouldn’t be riding on them.   They didn’t see me, but I heard the chubby one say “let’s go find her” and I knew she was referring to me, so I just waited in the aisle to let them find me as it would have been on –  they would have gotten the diatribe  that I would have given my son and that at least one of their parents should have given to them when they hopped on the carts when they came it the store.

The chubby one ran past the end of the store without even looking down the aisle.  The little one was behind her and did look, this time gave her the evil eye gypsy curse stare and she ran as well.   I didn’t see either of them again until I was leaving the store when I saw the younger one clinging to what appeared to be her mother, which is a good thing as even I have had a lot of odd things happen at that store and it is just not safe.

Obviously, I am not an advocate of free-range parenting.

 

 

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “No Ride-on Carts at Kroger Today

  1. you neglected to name the store you were in but I would reckon it’s a name brand grocery store that sells “Big K” pop and it’s on West State Blvd. in Fort Wayne… just a guess.

    Like

Leave a Reply

