Christmas 2016

christmas-2016

As my landlord had indicated he wanted to have my kitchen counter re-done before Christmas (due to water damage after a leak) we had Christmas at Marv’s this year for the first time since 1993.

I gave Marv the cooking bag and spices and he bought the Turkey and cooked it, along with the Apple Pie and Cool Whip.  I brought the Dinner Rolls,  Beef with Vegetables, Scalloped Potatoes and Mashed Potatoes and cooked them along with the corn, which I added Dill and butter and that ended up being our Christmas dinner, although at one point with Kyle  having a bad attitude, Marv and I had decided to do a “Christmas Story” dinner and go to the Chinese buffet at the Fortune Buffet as they were open on Christmas.

As this was a “Christmas Lite” year as none of us had much money, Kyle got a waterproof phone protector to wear during workouts, socks, underwear, t-shirts, flannel shirts, Lab Retriever sleep pants and also a Lava Lamp from his Dad, I got Marv got a comforter & pillow shams, flannel shirts, dog toys for his dogs, a magnet that said #NoFilter.  I got a G4 phone and Kyle said he would show me how to use after he and his Dad buy me time to use after my Birthday in January.  After working 5 years in a call center, I am not really a phone person, but guess maybe the GPS, Instagram and coupon functions would be fun.

Kyle hung around long enough to eat and open presents, then texted his friend and whined about having to pick up his truck as he had not had it in 2 1/2 weeks (had been using his Dad’s van).   Although I can understand wanting the freedom of having a vehicle after having been without one for months, but I can’t imagine his friend’s family was any happier than we were to mess around with this on Christmas Day.  He never returned.  That is not how he was raised.

Usually, we go to the movie theaters to see a movie on Christmas day, but as Marv was not up to it as he only got out of hospital recently, we decided to rent a movie.  The only thing he requested was that it not be a zombie movie.  I picked the movie “Cell” as it was based on a Stephen King book that I had started to read, but due to lack of time, had to turn back into the library and only read a chapter and was excited to see the pairing of John Cusack and Samuel L. Jackson again after watching “1409”, another Stephen King based movie that was very good.

Unfortunately, it turned out to be a zombie-type movie, as people that had cell phones were controlled by a signal that made them want to attack and kill/eat some that were not their kind in the beginning and the ending was a downer that really made the movie pointless.  Guess I should get the book and read it as most movies butcher Stephen King books.

Leave a Reply

