1977 Flashback – Carolyn with Kathy Bookends

102_4901
Kim’s Mom had found a photo album that turned out used to have been mine for when I was about 15 years old.  I remember it was in the Fall in starting to get cold out and I don’t think I was driving yet and other pictures in the album were taken in that year.

As you can probably tell by the picture, polyester dominated our wardrobes at that time.  Kathy H. loved that black outfit she had on above and wore it often.

I am on the left with a purse that is almost the size of carry-on luggage to carry around all nearly everything I own (which prepared me well for motherhood and all the stuff you have tote around when you have a baby) while Carolyn is in in the center sans any accessories and Kathy Heller’s was just a cigarette.   I posted it Carolyn’s Facebook page and she postulated that we were probably out in an area of the parking lot a high school known as “Smoker Alley” and it was lunch and Kathy Heller would usually have a cigarette before we headed over the strip mall by the high school.  They used to

I posted it Carolyn’s Facebook page and she postulated that we were probably out in an area of the parking lot a high school known as “Smoker Alley” and it was lunch and Kathy Heller would usually have a cigarette before we headed over the strip mall by the high school, which the back of the mall is behind us in the above picture.

The strip mall had a store with a bakery, maybe it was inside the Marsh store…has been too long ago to remember, and  I order a Cream Filled Long John pastry for 17 cents.  Usually, if there were any male high school students around the area at the time and a girl ordered one of those, the boys snickered and made crude comments, but it never deterred my pursuit of the beloved pastry product.

I think Kathy H. was a year ahead of us in high school and graduated the next year and never saw her again after that.

Leave a Reply

