Bingo

DSCN8915

 

Every so often the department where I work has a  virtual Bingo tournament where whoever is running it sends out an email with three number twice daily until there are three winners.   The winners get a choice of small, promotional trinkets for the company, like a key chain, a vinyl covered notebook with a matching pen, or a small tote bag, or on Holidays numbers sent out hourly until the themed prize packages are gone.

When I first started at and found a Bingo card on my desk I was a little dumbfounded and thought, Bingo, really?

It reminded me of going to the nursing home while I was in the Sunshine Society in Jr. High to be one of the assistant callers, who would stand by a small group of seniors and call out the number in case they were hard of hearing.  I learned early on that you didn’t want to point out the numbers someone might have missed on the cards; the person that missed it was insulted as they felt you were questioning mental faculties and others felt it was cheating ; if Bessie missed I17 because she was talking instead of paying attention, it gave Gertrude or Flossy the upper edge on the game and they might win that heating pad or silk flower arrangement.    I remember praying, Dear Lord in Heaven, don’t let me end up like this when I get old.

After playing at work for a few years, it is now something to look forward to.  In  that 15 seconds it takes to check the numbers on the card in hopes of getting that small trinket I really don’t need,  I clear my head of everything else and can go back to the tasks at hand refreshed, even if it doesn’t result in a Bingo.  What I couldn’t understand as teen, is something that I have come to know as an adult:   It is sometimes just the small distractions that get us through the monotony and chaos of our lives.

What I couldn’t grasp as a teen with a world of possibilities and bored with my small town life,  is something that I have come to know as an adult:   It is sometimes just the small, pleasant, distractions that get us through the monotony and chaos of our lives and we should embrace them.

 

Leave a Reply

